Serbian Geography

The country of Serbia has varied geography with the Pannonian Plain and lowlands, the Balkan and Carpathian Mountains, the Dinaric Alps, and the hills stretching across the country.  A third of the country is covered with forests. National parks take up 10% of the country’s land.  There are 5 national parks and 22 nature preserves. The Danube River also passes through Serbia with 1/5 of its length.  Other large rivers include Sava, Morava, Tisa, Drina and the Ibar.  Almost all of these rivers drain into the Black Sea by way of the Danube River.  The country is located in the humid continental zone with temperatures ranging from about 0 °C (32 °F) in winter to around 22 °C (72 °F) in summer. In the northern mountainous areas, the climate has colder winters and more humid summers.

Before 2010, the Serbian territory was made up of the provinces of Vojvodina and Kosovo and Central Serbia. Today, Serbia is divided into five regions:  Vojvodina and Kosovo plus Belgrade, Sumadija and Western Serbia, and Southern and Eastern Serbia. Vojvodina and Kosovo are independent provinces.  Serbia is further divided into 150 municipalities and 24 cities.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is dinolingo-logo-mascot-square-2.png

Online Serbian lessons for kids:

Rate this post
Scroll to Top